A writer is a dreamer…

I’ve been watching a lot of Jane the Virgin recently. If you haven’t watched it, it’s essentially about a girl that dreams of being a writer and after like 5 years of work she gets a book deal. This has got me thinking I wouldn’t mind being a writer. I blog because I enjoy it, surely writing a story cannot be that different? 

Well. Writing a story is a heck of a lot harder. I have a friend who wants to be a writer, she is amazing at it and all the things she’s sent me I have loved. She was talking to me about an idea that she’s played around with for ages and I secretly tried to write the opening paragraph with the idea that I’d give it to her for a little inspiration. I got about three sentences in, realised I had no idea what I was doing and gave up.

I’d love to have the determination to write a story. I’d love to have the ideas to write a story too. The ideas that writers have must be incredible. Take the opening for Harry Potter and The Philosiphers Stone. JK Rowling wrote about how there was a cat stood at the corner of Privet Drive reading a map. I’d love to know how she came uonwith that idea because it’s possibly the most batshit thing I’ve read! How she used the Dementors as a metaphor for her depression too is incredible. The brain it would’ve taken to come up with something like that is amazing. 

I think possibly the best book I’ve read is We Were Liars by E.Lockhart. It’s basically about a girl who’s super rich, her family own an island and she caused an accident that got her friends killed. However because of the accident she can’t remember what happened. It’s an incredible read, and after I finished that the other day it made me think about whether I should try writing? I dunno. I don’t think I’d be good enough but it might be something I could do for fun, or I could create resources for teaching maybe? I dunno but it’s definitely an idea to work on…

Thanks for reading!

Love you, bye! 

Leave a Reply

