End of a chapter 

Well hello there! I hope you’re all doing well! I’m currently in Carmarthen for the last few days, I graduate tomorrow and to be honest it’s a massive thing to get my head around.

I was never supposed to go into mainstream education. You see, someone in the department of education classes me as a special needs kid because I was super sick as a child. I had something wrong with my heart, my lungs, my kidneys, my liver… basically I was broken when I was born. I was to the point where my mum had to come home from the hospital and tell my sister I may not come home. I can’t imagine how that conversation went considering my sister was three at the time. 

I ended up in a really horrible mainstream school in Exeter. The teachers saw on my file that I was technically special needs so didn’t make an effort to teach me. For three years. For those three years I was horrendously bullied and I fell a long way behind the rest of my friends and something had to be done. Mum decided it was a good idea to move me from Exeter 10 miles down the road to Exmouth. It is probably the best decision she made. 

I ended up in the most amazing primary school. They noticed that my school in Exeter didn’t send my file down with me. They assessed me and found that I’d fallen 3 years behind. They didn’t think that was a problem and worked tirelessly for the next three years to get me back up to speed, and surprisingly they did. By the end of year 6 I had caught up. Better yet, I was in the top 20% of my year group. 

Now I’ve already told my secondary school tale so we’ll fast forward to 2014 when I started university. I remember so fondly moving into my first year house. The first night was incredible. We played 8 man beer pong and we got very drunk. Then I met 24 of the most incredible people I will ever meet. Knowing I have to say goodbye to most of them tomorrow is tearing me to shreds. 

Over the past three years I’ve learnt the importance of having a good education and surrounding yourself with good people. I think that’s why I try to be a good person, because I know that I wouldn’t be where I am today without the good people in my life. 

It’s such a strange world we live in. Going from barely getting into education to finishing a degree and working with children that need support the most. I mean last week I was working with a girl who 6 months ago was diagnosed with bone cancer. One of her legs has been replaced with a metal skeletal structure that grows with her. Their school trip was part of her rehab and it was the most inspiring and rewarding thing. I mean we helped her realise she can still do all of the things she wanted to and even more.

Currently my education has come to an end and what a journey it’s been. I’ve learnt so much about myself, the world around me and most importantly, I’ve learnt about other people. This chapter of my story is at an end. I have no idea what comes next but what I do know is im excited. I’m excited to see what I’m gonna do next, I’m excited to meet new people and the person I’m supposed to be with. I’m excited about the prospect that I could have an impact on someone’s life. The Journey is only just beginning and I hope you stick around to see it. 

Love you, bye! 

Leave a Reply

