What would you do if you weren’t afraid?

Well hello there! Last night I got a text from a friend asking if I wanted to go kayaking as the river randomly flooded and was runnable for the last time until winter. We got there and the river was huge. I’d seen rivers this high before and I’d always been too afraid to try it in case something went wrong. Last night I ended up kayaking, but all day today I’ve been thinking what things I’d have done if I wasn’t afraid. 

Thinking back there are a lot of things I haven’t done because I’ve been too afraid to try. There’s routes I’ve not climbed on mountains because I’ve been to worried, there’s rivers I’ve not paddled, places I’ve not seen and there are also people I’ve let slip by because I’ve been too afraid to tell them things.

I know for certain that if I didn’t worry about things so much id definitely ask the girl I like on a date or tell them I liked them or something. My excuse is the fear of rejection is a legit thing so I don’t sound like a chicken.

Today I saw a scholarship for becoming a travel filmmaker. That’s something I would love to do, you get flights to India, all the kit and a professional to mentor you. I’m too afraid to give up what I have here to apply for it. I mean that’s probably a good thing because I’m not a fan of Indian food and considering that’s what they eat in India that would be a little problem. And there’s also the small problem of tigers. Tigers are angry and they will eat you.

Basically my problem is I overthink things way too much and it means I miss out on so much. I miss out on going on dates, I miss opportunities that I may never get again. Essentially I need to stop being a wimp and realise that the worst thing that’ll happen most of the times is someone will just say no.  But it’s hard, and I’m sure a few of you do the exact same. 

I mean think about it, if I had the courage to tell this girl I liked her or something, I could end up with a girlfriend. If I wasn’t worried about giving up my teacher training spot, I could become a film maker. If I didn’t spend all my time worrying about things when I was younger I could be a sponsored or Olympic climber… Okay, so maybe that ones a bit unrealistic. I’d probably just fall off climbs less but you get where I’m going with this. 

I think I need to find a way to stop worrying and take more risks, because they could turn out really awesome and if they don’t, life goes on. That’s all for today! I hope you’ve had a good weekend 🙂 

Love you, bye! 

Leave a Reply

