People that inspire me

Well hello there! It’s been an odd few days and I’ve been thinking a lot about people. Just people in general really. It seems quite an odd thing to just think about, but I’ve seen a lot of things on social media over the past few days of people screaming “THEY’RE AN INSPIRATION” at everyone. Admittedly some people deserve the praise. Take Arianna Grande for example. What she did in the aftermath of the Manchester bombing is nothing short of inspirational. However, I saw someone say that someone downing 4 pints in a row was inspirational which is far from inspirational. This made me get around to thinking who inspires me? Throughout today I’ve thought of three people that I want to write a little bit about.

The first one is someone I’ve spoken about a lot in previous blogs. Lin Manuel Miranda. Lin Manuel is possibly one of the biggest talents in the world at this very second. You might know him from Moana, he wrote the soundtrack. I know him from his work in musical theatre, I’m a little theatre nerd so bare with. Lin drafted his first Broadway show when he was in university (or college if you’re American) and that went on to win a Tony Award. To compare to an average students first year, I learnt that a barnacle has the largest penis in the animal kingdom if you compared it to its size. The things our lecturers told us were weird I know…. Anyway, Lin went on to write one of the greatest musicals in history, which was Hamilton, and he’s won every award there is to win within the acting world. Lin started out from nothing. He grew up in Washington Heights which is a kinda rough area. He started working on achieving his dream when he was super young and now he’s going to be in Mary Poppins 2. It took Lin something like six years to write Hamilton. The fact that he stuck to the project after that length of time is inspirational enough as it is, but he is also so humble when talking about Hamilton. Lin makes me think that good things really do come to those who wait and also that there is no point being a braggy muppet because you did something cool.

The next is Alex Honnold. Most of you will never have heard of him. But he’s the guy in the featured photo for this post. Alex is a rock climber. Alex is also possibly clinically insane as he chooses to climb most things without a rope. Most recently he completed possibly the biggest sporting achievement in the world. He was the first person to climb a route in America that was over 3,000 feet without a rope. The challenges associated with this aren’t just physical but its also mental. Knowing that one small mistake could mean death. I dunno about you, but id rather not be doing an activity knowing I could die, personally that would take all of the fun out of it. The route itself is extremely difficult. In Uk climbing, it’s grade would be E6 which stands for Extreme 6. The grades only go up to E10 so it’s pretty tough. I once looked at an E6 climb and debated giving up on climbing altogether because you’d either had to be mad or have a death wish to climb that. Now, Alex again is very humble. He spends most of his time living in his van and driving to different climbs. He worked to climb this route for a good 10 years which is a long time. Alex inspires me because he worked so hard for such a long period of time to learn the skills he needed to learn and to get to the ability level that he is at. He’s now a sponsored athlete and is looking for a new project to work on but even if he decides to give up climbing tomorrow he will always be an inspiration to me.

Finally, Ed Sheeran is possibly the biggest inspiration to me… and probably most people on the planet. Fun fact, I once met Ed at Exeter central train station. He missed his train after playing a show that no one showed up to and I missed mine because work let me out late. He is one of the nicest people I have ever met. He inspires me because everything he has said about himself is true. He spent such a long time sleeping on sofas because he didn’t have anywhere to go, he has a crazy amount of money but limits himself to £1000 a month and he was rubbish when he started out. Seriously, do a little google and you’ll find one of Ed’s early songs and honestly, I’ve heard babies crying that sounded better than he did at the start. Now, just as the two people above he worked so hard to get to where he is, and now he’s one of the biggest stars on the planet.

I dunno if you’ve noticed but there been a bit of a theme of this post. Hard word pays off. I’m sure you’ll remember when Ed released his latest album every single song off it was in the top 20. Lin Manuel Miranda took 5 attempts to write his first musical and it won the Best New Musical award. Alex Honnold most definitely fell off some stuff at the start of his climbing career. Look at them all now, each of the people mentioned in this post are some of the best in the world in their field. These guys are all proof that if you work hard at something and don’t stop trying eventually it might pay off and it’ll be worth all the stress and all the doubting. I’d like to think that one day I’ll inspire someone of encourage someone or something like that, I think it’d be pretty cool. Anyway, that’s all for today!

Love you, Bye!
P.s. don’t forget to be awesome!

Leave a Reply

