A little bit nostalgic

Well hello there! So today I’ve been sorting out all of the things for my teacher training and it’s made me think a lot of when I went to school for some reason. So much has changed since 2011 when I left school and it’s all just suddenly hit me. Between then and now is kind of really the age when people lose touch with each other. I mean the people in my cover photo were possibly some of the best friends I have ever had, yet I only talk to one of them. Even that only started recently.

I think one of the downsides of going away to university is that you do just lose contact with people. The people in the cover photo for this post all stayed close by. Georgia and Lauren and Vikki, the three girls on the left of the photo all went to Plymouth university. Lou, the girl on the right hung out for a few years and then moved to Guilford I think. I moved 180 miles away to university. I have absolutely no idea what those girls are up to now and it’s actually made me quite sad.

Of course, I went to uni and made some amazing friends there. But now I’m back and because everyone’s moved away or I’ve just lost contact with people it feels a little bit weird to be back. Like, it kinda feels like I’ve only just moved to Exmouth. Not because I don’t know the area, but because it can feel like I don’t know many people. I know full well that if I messaged the people I used to hang around with they would probably be more than happy to have a catch up. But would it be weird? I mean I disappeared for like four years and then to randomly resurface all this time later, it just seems like it would be super weird.

Between the ages of 16 and I’m gonna say 21 is when people do the most growing up and changing. I know that I’m not the same as I was back when I was 16, but what if the people I used to hang out with have changed too? I think the thing thats scaring me most is change. I mean, I moved to Wales and did a super fun and less serious degree, Georgia and Lauren went off to do a early years degree, Vikki went off to do psychology and Lou is off doing her own thing. They’ve probably grown up a lot more than I have, but that wouldn’t be their fault at all. I just kinda wish that we could be back in science in year 10 mucking around trying not to spill chemicals on each other while laughing at our little jokes. Lou decided one lesson that she was just going to pluck my eye brows because she got bored, and our teacher was kinda crap so didn’t care what we did. Actually for him to get the classes attention he had to make a jet engine out of a water container. It worked every time. We used to go out and hang around on weekends, and go to the fair and stuff. Fast forward six years and I’m just about to start a post graduate course to become a teacher.

Basically I miss my old friends, I know that there are so many things that I will have forgotten about when I was at school and that scares me. I had the best friend group and there is so much stuff that I just don’t know about them anymore or that I have just plain forgotten. I think that’s one of the reasons why I have this blog. So that in ten years I can remember the things I’ve done and the people that were there. I want to remember all of the little trips I go on with people, or the dates I go on or all of the important things that are gonna happen. I want to be able to remember how I feel now, or when I start my pgce, or when I graduate or when my sister gets married.

Now, if you’ll excuse me I have to convince myself its a good idea to message some people for a bit of a catch up.

Love you, Bye!
P.S. Don’t forget to be awesome

Leave a Reply

