My New Job

Well hello there! It’s a busy few weeks. I’ve pretty much come straight from finishing university into starting a new job. It’s a job I did last year and I absolutely loved it. I work as a freelance activity instructor on Dartmoor and it’s possibly the best job that I have ever had. Usually we work with private schools. In three weeks I’m working with the school that Prince William and Harry went to, and the school that Bear Grylls’ children currently study at. This week I worked with a group of local schools and it was super fun so I thought that I would share what I got up to this week.

The site we use is a little farm in the middle of Dartmoor. The nearest town is a good half an hour drive away. The site is a working farm which means that on the first day we have to help move some of the animals to different fields so that they are away from the the children. The site also has its own climbing tower which makes it super easy for us as a company because we are able to run a lot of the activities on site.

Climbing Tower and Bluebells
Not too bad of an office

Throughout the week we do a whole bunch of activities ranging from climbing to caving. The climbing tower is about 12 years old and has an abseil section. It’s probably the kids favourite activity when they come to us. The kids all sleep in either Eco Pods or rooms in the bunkhouse. The staff draw the short straw each year and we have to sleep in tents. I got so fed up with this last year, the staff tents were really old and I woke up one morning and all of my kit was in a puddle. This year I decided that I was going to buy a hammock and sleep in that for the week. It’s odd to start with because you’re dangling in the air and can’t really roll around but it is by far the best week of sleeping that I have ever had. Two of my friends decided they were going to shoot sucker arrows at me one morning to wake me up which was an interesting way of being woken up I guess.

hammock
My bed for the week

As the week went on the weather kept improving. It was roughly 30 degrees each day and we were having to remind the kids daily that they had to put suncream on. Now, working with a bunch of primary school kids is interesting because they never want to do what you tell them they should do. Especially when you aren’t school staff. We had to come up with a way of making the kids want to put suncream on and, well this happened…

18762442_1394509120632969_1516059655_n

Yep. I spent every day this week being half a smurf. It worked though, the kids then got really excited about putting suncream on for some reason and demanded that they had the same stuff put on their face. I have no idea why blue suncream makes kids super excited. Maybe its just the colour blue? I mean, everyone went mental for blue smarties when they came back around so it might have something to do with that… Anyway, the site we use is super cute. It’s essentially an old farm house that’s been converted into a series of bunkhouses and storage rooms. It’s really the perfect site for something like running an adventure camp.

18788663_1394508770633004_791098886_n

There is one slightly awesome perk about working at this farm. When the kids go to bed we are allowed to have a few drinks, and also if you know anything about Dartmoor you’ll know that it’s in the middle of nowhere and that it’s a little behind the times. This farm has a sauna and a hot tub. Yep, you read that right. A sauna and a hot tub. Don’t believe me? Have a look for yourself.

Hot Tuuuuuub
Told you so…

So that a quick summary of my past week. It’s been a super fun week and I can’t wait for three more weeks of working there and spending time with some truly amazing people. It’ll also be the last time I get to hang out with one of my course mates too for a while so it’ll be super nice. I hope you had a good week!

Love you, Bye!
P.S. Don’t Forget To Be Aweomse

Leave a Reply

