The start of the end of uni

The last three years of my life have absolutely flown by and now within the next few weeks I will have moved away from university for the final time. To say its been incredible would be an understatement. I thought it would be nice to take a look back at the past three years and look at some things I have learnt from the experience.

I can remember the day I moved in to university. I didn’t have time to say buy to my parents properly because there has always been a parking issue on campus which meant that they had to rush off. I can remember being sat in my new room just waiting for people to come and say hello. I was wondering what the next few years would be like, what it would be like living away from home for the first time, what the course would be like and what the people would be like. I would soon learn that everyone on the course was lovely. Thinking about it some of them are the only reason I’m still at university and they are the loveliest people I will ever meet. Of course, some of them dropped out and some of them turned out to be morons but the vast majority of them are the best people.

12309482_1105096339502764_2535736932374009174_o
My year group
I suppose the brings me onto the first thing I learnt while being at uni. Some people will never grow up. This is the only negative thing on the list which I’m actually quite surprised at. I came to uni thinking that everyone would be a bit maturer, and the whole high school trying to be popular thing would stop. It didn’t. There are some people it seems that will always try and cause drama to seem cool to other people. There are some people that will always think that they are better than other people because they come from a better background than others. In my mind that just makes them really stupid people. But that is literally contained to a very small few people I’ve met at uni and as I said above, I have so much love for the vast majority of my course.

10314561_765711560179398_2092245252157093320_n

Wales has been an immaculate backdrop for my adventures while at university. The picture above was taken in North Wales and I can remember being blown away by that view. The photo doesn’t do it justice. This brings me to the second thing I’ve learnt at uni. Wales is by far my favourite country. I will get so much stick for saying this because the English – Welsh rivalry has meant that I have rarely said good things about Wales. But it is such a magical place. The people are phenomenal, they don’t take themselves seriously and I think I am yet to meet a welsh person I don’t like. Culturally, Wales is fascinating. It was recently St David’s Day. Schools here do a massive thing for it, I’m also pretty certain St David’s Day in 2015 was the first time I had a Welsh Cake. These are the nicest thing on the planet. The Welsh are so passionate about their heritage, it definitely puts England to shame. Also, the country is stunning. There have been times when I’ve been out on the beach or by the coast or up a mountain and you could easily forget that you were in the UK.  Wales will forever be one of my favourite places and it is somewhere that I could easily live in the future.

While I’ve been at uni I’ve had the opportunity to go to places and see things that I might never have seen. It’s been so cool to go and wander up a mountain that is supposed to be a giants throne, or to go and canoe on the lake that is where hogwarts is set in the Harry Potter movies.

13246302_1059033920847159_3390790884392088628_o

I guess really that another lesson that I’ve learnt is that you can actually do anything you want to. If you told me 5 years ago that in 5 years I will be finishing up an undergrad degree and have a place on a PGCE, or that I would have climbed a whole bunch of mountains and canoed a whole lot of miles and slept in a hammock along the way I would have probably laughed at you. These are all things that I have really wanted to do, and I’ve done them. The only limitations to someone actually achieving something is themselves. An extension of this lesson would be to surround yourself with the right people, because I would never have gotten to where I am if it weren’t for a few people that kept me on the right track.

A final lesson I’ve learnt is that you should just do anything that sounds cool to you. I can remember that we got asked if we wanted to help out on a first aid scenario for the first years. That basically involved me laying on a river bank in a very thin wetsuit in the middle of February. We had make up done properly and someone ended up with a bit of bone “sticking out of their leg”. I sent the photo below to my mum and seconds later received phone call from her. The most important lesson I learnt is to not play a trick on your mother where you make out that you are injured. It may be funny to you but at the time they will not appreciate it and then you’ll spend the next hour telling them you don’t have concussion or a massive head injury and that you are in fact okay12347822_1657158447901105_1712981982111593272_n

Uni has been the most amazing time of my life. I will never forget it. That’s just a few of the things that I’ve learnt at uni but looking back, I am completely different now to what I was like before I started the course. Being a student at university is incredibly difficult. But it is such an incredible experience. I am a little sad knowing that when I move home in a few weeks I will probably only come back to Carmarthen possibly four times. But bigger and better things are on the way and I am so excited to see how things turn out.

Love you, Bye!
P.S. Don’t Forget To Be Awesome

Leave a Reply

