Let’s seriously talk: Bullying

I’m not entirely sure how to really start this post. For me especially this is a very sensitive topic and no doubt it will be for many of you too. This morning when I woke up I checked facebook on my phone and came across a story of a 14 year old girl who took her own life because she was bullied. That absolutely broke my heart. To put that into context, that is a child in year 8. She had received a text from a child in her year group, another 14 year old, saying “why don’t you hang yourself”. That was the last message this girl ever replied to.

Of course this is not the only story like this we are familiar with. I am sure you all know the story of Amanda Todd or have seen the film cyber bully or the countless other stories that there are about this. In my mind and many other peoples mind bullying is unacceptable. I’m not really one to share this information about because it is super personal but I feel it’s only fair in an attempt to raise awareness of such an important issue.

All through my education I was really badly bullied. In primary school it was so bad we had to move and that didn’t solve anything because I got bullied in my new school, in fact I actually got beaten up in the school I moved into. In secondary school it got really bad and this is 100% true no matter how crazy it sounds. In year 7 I got bullied because I was a little larger than the other kids, in year 8 someone tried to set me on fire because I was doing better than they were in life (100% true), and from year 9 through to year 11 I got bullied because I was smart. In college someone tried to beat me up because I was kind. In my honest opinion schools do not do enough. The kid that tried to set me on fire just got a warning from the police and got to keep their place in the school, same for the person in college.

The really sad thing is, it always seems to be the kind, intelligent students that are targeted by bullies. They always say that people bully other people because they are jealous and I always liked to think that was true as a way of making myself feel a lot better about getting bullied. Now I just think that it’s because there are just some really cruel people on this planet. Me being bullied led me to be in a really dark place. Everything seemed pretty pointless, it seemed everyone was against me and it felt like I couldn’t be happy. I got tired of trying and I wanted to just give up. I very nearly did.

I’m not sharing this to be the centre of attention, or to get pity points from people. I’m sharing it with the hope that it’s going to raise awareness. Bullying is not okay, and it never will be. Making someone feel that shit about themselves is unacceptable. No one has the right to make anyone else feel small or useless. I’m really lucky that I get to train to be a teacher and that I get the opportunity to go on and help try to deal with this problem that will never go away. It’s part of the reason that I wanted to become a teacher if I’m honest. You should be able to go to school and be safe and not be subjected to cruelty or made to feel crap.

If you are being bullied, just stick with it. I know its hard. I 100% understand. But it isn’t worth giving in. You’ll go on to do exactly what you want to do with your life and people will love you for it. I promise you it gets better. I’ve been in the same position as you are, don’t be afraid to go and talk to a teacher or your parents. They will want to help in every way that they can. If you don’t feel like talking to an adult talk to a friend or someone else, you can even leave me a message and I’ll get back to you and I’ll try to help in any way that I can. The worst thing is trying to deal with it on your own because it will get too much and it will overwhelm you.

Obviously I want as many people to see this as possible so people know that they aren’t alone. If you want to share this please do feel free to or just send it to someone who needs a hand. I think the take away message from this post is to just be kind to each other. You have no idea how much damage your words or actions could do.

Love you, bye!
P.S. Don’t forget to be awesome

Leave a Reply

