My Trip Home

Well hello there! So for the last few days I’ve been at home. The only reason I went was because I had a concert to go to in Plymouth so I thought I’d stay home for a few days, and it turned out to be an incredible few days so I thought I’d share it with you.

Basically, one day made my whole trip home worth it. I traveled home last Wednesday and had a nightmare of a train ride. The train missed the platform at Bristol and it was busy and there was a crying baby and it was just rubbish. I phoned my mum from the train station and asked if we could have fish and chips for dinner, she said yes and I got really excited about it because uni budgets don’t allow for a lot of takeaways. My parents and my sister met me at the train station and we made our way home via the chip shop. Now, when you order fish and chips from a chip shop that is trying to be Britain’s best chip shop you’d expect to get two things that chippies are famous for; fish, and chips. Getting home to find that I didn’t have a fish with my fish and chips was mildly heartbreaking.

Thursday was the day that I’m gonna focus on because it was an incredible day. For my friends birthday I got tickets to go and see Jamie Lawson in Plymouth and they suggested that our little group had a catch up before the concert. I was super excited to see my friends from home again because it had been about a year since we’d all been in the same place at the same time. It takes about an hour and a half from my house to drive to Plymouth, so my friends said they would pick me up and their boyfriend would be joining us and I said I’d sit in the back because they were driving me there and back. That will be the last time I make that offer. Her boyfriend drives a Mini Cooper, which is potentially the coolest car ever. One key thing I forgot about Mini’s when i offered to sit in the back is that it is a very small car. An hour and a half with no leg room is killer.

For our little group catch up we decided Nando’s would be the best option, partly because my friend likes the phrase “cheeky nandos”.  It was so nice to be with the whole group again, it felt like I only saw them before I left for uni this year and not that it had been a year since we’d all been together so it was really nice. One thing I will say thought is that you’d think nandos would be prepared for people to order chicken wings. Well, this particular wasn’t. It seemed like while I was home that food places weren’t my friend.

The time for the concert came around and Calum Scott was the support act. He won Britain’s Got Talent last year and holy crap he can sing. I cannot wait for his album to come out next year. Then Jamie Lawson came on and very quickly I realized that I was probably the only single person in the room because everyone around me had their arms around someone… I probably looked like a right idiot just chilling out on my own. It was Jamie’s last night of the tour so he was saying thank you to everyone. He thanked his manager and then something quite amazing happened. He said “there is also one person I’d like to thank, because without him none of this would be possible. He’s here tonight so please welcome Ed Sheeran”. ED SHEERAN.

I’m not kidding. Ed Sheeran was there

Now, I don’t know how you would have reacted, but the whole of Plymouth Pavilions pretty much died. Someone near me fainted, lots of people were crying and lots of people were screaming… I was one of them. Together, Jamie and Ed played a song which may or may not feature on Ed’s new album and obviously it was incredible. Then they sang Jamie’s song ‘Cold in Ohio’ which sounded beautiful, and after that had finished everyone’s favorite ginger left. I was present for the first UK appearance of Ed Sheeran since he vanished a year ago. I’d say Thursday night was pretty special.

For the rest of the time I was home, I did home things… You know, caught up with mum, drank a lot of tea, ate a lot of food, napped a lot and watched the X Factor. All things considered, it was a pretty epic few days and I thought you’d like to hear about it. That’s all for today’s post, I hope your weekend was as fun as mine!

Love you, Bye!
P.S. Don’t Forget To Be Awesome

Leave a Reply

