Uni update!

Well hello there! I hope you’re all good! Little side note, I’m typing this with strapped up fingers so if there are spelling mistakes I am so sorry. Ive been back at uni for a month so I thought I should do a little update about what’s happened so far and there are two quite big things that have happened.

I thought I’d start with some photos. I promise its not gonna be crappy like when your aunt gets back off holiday and insists to show you 12 photos of a tree she liked. The first photo is literally just down the road from my uni house and it helps demonstrate how stunning wales can be in my opinion. Literally the best sunset I have ever seen.

Sky’s on fire over Carmarthen

Secondly, its been freshers and a few heavy nights out afterwards. I left my friend a voicemail telling him how awesome his girlfriend was, I had a fight with a bush walking home and also I’ve had so much fun with some amazing friends. Me and my friend, Ruby, are always single during the balls or formals or whatever you wanna call them and shes the best ‘date’ I have ever had.

Me and Ruby looking amazing

So on to the exciting things. Firstly I’ve been given the opportunity to work with the university to develop some advertisements for my course. This may not seem that exciting to you but its been a dream of mine to become an adventure film maker and this opportunity is huge. There are certain bits of footage I’ve been asked to capture,  but I also have creative control, and I can also make my own adverts on the side and if they are good the university will use them. I’ve been given use of top of the range equipment and I also can have one to ones to help develop my skills. This can lead on to so many exciting things for me and considering some of the contacts I have already made and some of the people I have already impressed with my photography I cannot wait to see how this turns out.

Secondly, I’ve started an application for a Masters program. This is such a huge thing for me because no one expected me to get to university because of the learning and health difficulties I had when I was little. I was supposed to go to a special education school, and there was only one teacher in my whole school education that actually pushed me and helped me to realize my potential. Its very odd looking at a page for a personal statement after thinking the personal statement for my undergraduate degree was the only one I would ever write. The fact that I feel confident in my own ability now to want to pursue a Masters degree in Outdoor Education amazes me. I spoke to my mum about it a few days ago and she got so emotional because of how far I’ve come and that I have the ability to keep going. As far as I know, I will also be the only person in my immediate family with a Masters if I get on to the program which would be amazing.

That’s the main exciting things. I mean I’ve started repairing friendships with some of the most incredible people I have ever met and I’m still hanging around with the nicest people I have ever met and I’m living in one of the best places in the world (according to Lonely Planet). Things seem to be on the way up for me and I’m so excited about it.

Now, I have to pack to go home for a few days!

Love you, Bye!
P.S. Don’t Forget To Be Awesome

Leave a Reply

