The science of hugging

Well hello there! I’ve thrown my usual blog timetable out the window because the world is a bit messed up right now. This week pretty much any time I’ve looked on the siri suggestions screen and scroll down through the news which is pretty much daily there have been stories of attacks, or bombings or Donald Trump, all of which are bad things. Today I came across a project which brought a smile to my face, and you’ve probably all already seen or heard about it.

The project is called the Free Hugs Project. Rings a bell doesn’t it? The free hugs project is basically that guy you see on facebook videos that goes around hugging people when the worlds a mess. The projects aims are to spread love and inspire change and in my opinion this is something that the world really needs right now, a whole lot of lovin’.

How is a hug gonna change the world though I hear you ask? Well, think about every single time you’ve had a hug. during the hug have you ever felt crappy, or like no one cares? I know I haven’t. But there is actually science behind hugs and why they make you feel good. Yes, I have actually done a little research into this post. Science says that hugs release a hormone called Oxytocin, which is also called the “love drug” and it does three things that are good for you:

  1. It lowers your blood pressure, especially helpful if you’re feeling anxious.
  2. It lowers your cortisol (the stress hormone), enabling a higher quality of sleep.
  3. It can increase your social connections and a sense of belonging

So not only do hugs lower blood pressure and stress, but they also help you sleep a little better! This whole idea started in the wake of the Boston Marathon bombing and Ken (the guy that hugs) found that his hugs made people smile and gave them a little boost. Today I saw a video of him hugging police officers in America, who quite frankly need it after the past few weeks they’ve had!

I fully support this project, and I honestly believe you should too! I’ll put a link to the website below, and I’d like to leave you with this…

Love you, Bye!
P.S. Don’t forget to be awesome 🙂

http://freehugsproject.com/ go visit this and read up and support it!

Leave a Reply

