Making a difference

Well hello there! This blog is going to be about something I’ve been planning for a while and I am super excited about, and you’ll get the chance to help.

If you know me, you’ll already know I love a good challenge. A couple years ago now I did some work with a lovely organisation called Make A Wish. For those of you who don’t know Make A Wish are a charity who grant wishes for terminally ill children. That was such an amazing experience and I met such a touching little guy named Jack. His wish was to meet spider man and I helped to fund his wish. To do this, me and a friend took part in a charity trip where we paddled the whole of the River Wye in Wales, it took something like 5 days and it rained the whole time (typical Wales…).

Since then I’ve wanted to do something again to help someone, somewhere have a better chance at life because in my opinion, it’s only fair that everyone is given the best chances that they can have and if I can help to do this then that’s great. Whether they need help with an illness or disease, or mental illness or anything, everyone deserves a chance to excel in life.  I’d been thinking of ideas for a while and nothing really came to mind until mid last year when some friends from Scotland started telling me about where they live.

This will easily be the hardest thing that I have ever done, and I’m so excited to share it with you even though everything is still in the early planning stages. On an island in Scotland called the Isle of Skye, there are 10 mountains across the whole island which add up to 8,848 metres. Some of you will know this is the height of Everest. I will be navigating around the island on foot and climbing all of the mountains in 5 days which is roughly the average time it takes to climb Everest. I will also be doing this alone.

But that’s not all. I have also decided while out on a run that I’m going to run the Cardiff half marathon next year. Why only the half I hear you ask? I’d probably die running the full marathon, in fact I’ll probably die running the half… I’m really not as fit as I like to think as some nice student pointed out the other week that I’m a little chubby (he used the word fat, but chubby’s nicer). I have no idea why this thought popped into my head, but it did so I’m gonna give it my best shot.

I want to do these for the same charity next year and I would love to raise as much as I actually can for this charity. This is where you come in. I am struggling to decide on a charity to support and I’d love some suggestions and reasons why. Even if we don’t talk or whatever I could still do with your input, you can comment on this, message me on twitter or facebook or whatever but I’d love to hear about some causes that people think are worth supporting because I am so indecisive. Also, once I’ve figured out how to, I’ll set up a section on here with updates on how the planning is going if you’re interested in following me along this next year of training and preparation.

I’m super excited about this next year, and I hope you’ll follow me and keep giving me support throughout the process.

Love you, Bye!
P.S. Don’t forget to be awesome!

Leave a Reply

