Why I’m not drinking alcohol again

Well hello there! So last night it was the summer ball at uni, and everyone was really drunk and in a great mood and I ended up getting punched in the face. I’m not discussing what happened, that’s not for you to know. But what I will discuss is my thoughts this morning about last night entirely because in all honesty, I’d rather it ended another way than someone’s fist connecting with my face.

I’m gonna start off by saying that normally I’m a very good drunk, and I don’t go home with people unless I truly believe something may happen in the future. I’ve never gone home with someone on a night out before this year at uni and I’ve never been punched in the face, or anywhere, before on a night out.

Summer balls at uni tend to be the big one, everyone gets drunk and just wants to have a good time. Some people spend half a day getting ready for it and they end up looking absolutely beautiful because of it. Others, like me, get ready in literally 3 minutes, and just throw a shirt and tie on and some jeans that’ll match. Everyone I saw looked amazing last night which they should because uni is stressful and everyone deserves a night to unwind and have fun. Now I was exceptionally drunk last night, I think possibly the drunkest I’ve ever been and really, that’s what led to me getting punched.

The reason I’ve decided not to drink alcohol again, I mean like go on a night out, is because when I woke up this morning with a bruise on the side of my face, I was so ashamed of myself. The person I went home with is probably also quite embarrassed and doesn’t want to talk to me again, which as much as I don’t want that to happen it’s something I’ve got 4 months to deal with before I see them again. She is so lovely, one of the nicest people I know and I honestly feel like I’ve completely ruined a friendship and anything else that could of materialised. I’m not expecting to hear from her again and  it really sucks. Because of last night I’ve had another panic attack and it’s not okay.

I don’t tend to think of myself as a douchebag drunk like most guys are. I know that I’m an affectionate drunk, and I will tell people the truth, Whether they accept it or not, I will tell them everything I think and feel about them, and it’s always nice. Last night was no different, I did the usual thing of get really drunk and tell people I love them, it just happened to progress further and then I got punched. The funny thing is afterward I tried to shake the guys hand and compliment him on his punching ability. That’s the kind of drunk I am, I’m not agressive or anything like that at all.

I have ruined what could have been an amazing friendship and I’m truly gutted. I kinda wish I never went out last night because of it. So, to stop this happening again I’ve told my housemates next year to not let me get drunk too often, and to not let me buy loads of alcohol like I did last night. It’s really not okay what happened and I’m so ashamed of myself.

Love you, bye!
P.S. Don’t forget to be awesome

Leave a Reply

