Welcome to my blog :)

Well hello there! I should probably introduce myself because you probably don’t know me, or much about me. My names Josh, I’m 20 and I’m a student at University of Wales Trinity Saint David’s (UWTSD for short) and I’m just finishing my second year of Outdoor Adventure Education. If you don’t know that is it’s rock climbing and kayaking and camping and yes, it is in fact a real degree. I’m a little bit of a Disney nerd and a wannabe adventure photographer/filmmaker. I also have a stutter which is triggered by anxiety mainly, but it randomly just happens at points.

This is me, aren’t I handsome 😉

The thing about me is I’m quite a complicated human, I’ve had a tonne of health issues so far and I try not to let it stop me doing what I want to do, and largely it doesn’t. The thing that does affect me most however is I have really low self confidence and self esteem because growing up I went to a really bad school where teachers didn’t bother with me because the government had suggested that I was special needs and shouldn’t be in mainstream schools and through a lot of my formative years, especially my teens I had teachers tell me I wasn’t good enough or that I wouldn’t be able to manage with certain subjects. There were two people who really helped me while in school though, that was my form tutor who was also my GCSE drama teacher and my outdoor education teacher. Both made me believe I could do things I didn’t think I could, for example the first ever mountain I climbed was Ben Nevis in the middle of February which is quite technical, and I’ve stood on stage in front of I think it was about 3000 people dressed as a woman (the perks of being a drama student!).

Anyway, less about me and more about the blog! With this blog I’m really just aiming to share my thoughts and experiences on different topics, some of which might be distressing to some people. But mainly it’ll be filled with stories of little outdoorsy trips I go on or some things I feel like sharing because I think you’ll like reading them. And I’m gonna be honest, this is the first time I’ve done a consistent blog of sorts, so it might start off a bit naff but it’ll improve with time. So it back, grab a cup of tea and enjoy!

P.S. Don’t forget to be awesome!

Leave a Reply

